Fury (The Seven Deadly #3) by Fisher Amelie

18332364

Fury (The Seven Deadly #3) by Fisher Amelie:

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Genres: NA, Contemporary

Summary (from Goodreads):

 Revenge is an euphoric thing. Trust me on this. Nothing compares to the release you get when you ruin someone’s life. When they’ve stolen important things. Things that didn’t belong to them. Things I revel in making them pay for.

What? Have I offended you? I’m not here to appeal to your delicate senses. I have no intention of placating your wishes or living within your personal belief system nor do I care if you hate me. And you will hate me. Because I’m a brutal, savage, cold-blooded murderer and I’m here for my revenge.

I’m Ethan Moonsong…And this is the story about how I went from the world’s most sacrificing man to the most feared and why I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

Review:

As most of you probably know, I have a deep obsession with Fisher Amelie. She is one of my all time favorite authors. No joke. I particularly love this series as well, so as you can imagine, I was really excited for this book. Like REALLY excited.

giphy

Now, I will say I did love this book. It was a really great read and I was certainly pleased. But it didn’t quite meet my full expectations. Maybe this was because it had been two years since the last book and my reading “style” has changed, or maybe it’s simply lesser in quality compared to the rest of Amelie’s books. Either way, it was a tiny bit of a let down for me, but I was ready for something amazing.

Ethan was awesome and he is def a book boyfriend. Like hands down, no questions asked: he is a 10/10. His development in the story was very interesting, as was really the entire plot development. He makes a really fast turn around, then it’s chill for a while, and then there’s this gradual build up into the end of the story (which I will not be giving away- GO READ IT). In the chill time period, I was like, why is this book called Fury, like he is a fairly normal human being. I was so confused. But the end- yeah that was A+ work Fisher Amelie.

giphy-1

Finley, the main female, was really cool. She definitely drove a lot of the story, even though the book was mostly focused on Ethan. She was the basis for most of his actions, good or bad. She was a great part of the story. Her interaction with Ethan was always good, whether it was humorous or flirty like who cares they were perfect together. She wasn’t one of those characters that you want to be best friends with, but she was an interesting character to read about. Fisher Amelie put a lot of thought into her character, and it showed. Finley was never just a one-dimensional girl with no personality, and if an author can do that, the book is already halfway there.

The perspectives switch at random times throughout the book, which at first was a little weird, but eventually, I really liked it. I didn’t want to wait until the end of a chapter to see what Finley was thinking. Oftentimes we could get both Ethan and Finley’s opinions midway through an event, which contributed a lot to the plot. Some author’s could’ve made it just confusing and no one would understand what was going on, but Fisher Amelie did a great job with it.

I always love the idea behind Fisher Amelie’s stories. This one focused on child sex trafficking, which is a topic that needs a lot more attention in our world. If an author can advocate for a good cause while writing an excellent story, that’s pretty powerful. I commend Fisher Amelie for using her talent in writing for a greater purpose.

My only issue with the book was the writing style. This is where it comes back to the has my reading preference changed or is it just sub par work. The book wasn’t filled with spelling and grammatical errors, just sometimes I really didn’t like the wording of a sentence or the flow was not there. It was a little detracting from the reading experience because I kept getting hung up on those types of things and wanting to fix them. I love Fisher Amelie’s ideas for her books, I just want to be her editor so I could change a few things here and there- I know that’s kind of weird but it’s true.

Overall, I did love the book. I would recommend it to anyone, especially because of the subject matter that needs to get more attention. Honestly, I would also recommend all of Fisher Amelie’s books as well, because I think they all are fabulous books! Please please please give them a try!

Leave a Reply

