Locked (Locked #1) by Eva Morgan

20627821

Locked (Locked #1) by Eva Morgan:

Rating: 5/5 stars

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Mystery(ish)

Summary (from Goodreads): When eighteen-year-old Irene Adler meets her new neighbor, the gorgeous, brilliant, and arrogant Sherlock Holmes, she never expects him to be the one to make her feel like life is worth living again. Ever since her sister’s death, she’s been addicted to risk-taking as a way to deal with her depression, and Sherlock quickly becomes the biggest risk she’s ever taken.

Locked is the story of a broken girl and the genius who gives her life back to her. It’s the story of a witty asshole who’s never known love, and the girl who shows him what love means. It’s the story of an unexpected connection, two people who save each other, and the importance of seeing the goodness underneath.

*Based on the Sherlock Holmes series by Arthur Conan Doyle.

**Book 1 in the Locked series.

Review:

FKJFUEOLJVL:DSFJAO LJLEG I STILL CAN’T EXPRESS MY FEELINGS AFTER THAT ENDING WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW.

This is probably one of my new all time favorites. I loved this book. LOVED LOVED LOVED it. Which means that you need to prepare yourself for a lot of caps lock and gifs. Get ready.

First, the fact that this was essentially a Sherlock Holmes fanfic is absolutely brilliant. Because who knew that it is possible to create fanfics this FANTASTIC???? I DIDN’T. BUT NOW MY EYES HAVE BEEN OPENED THANKS TO THE WONDERFUL WORK OF EVA MORGAN. I’ve mentioned this before, but honestly this could have gone downhill like real bad. Like *cough* Fifty Shades of Grey bad. BUT IT DIDN’T.

Eva Morgan created a story that was original, but it had enough Sherlock Holmes elements in it, that it was just perfect. I mean who doesn’t like Sherlock Holmes? NO ONE! And Eva Morgan managed to portray Sherlock’s character in a way that probably made Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (what a great guy) proud.

Sherlock was the funniest character I’ve met in a while. Like literally can I be Sherlock when I grow up? He’s also probably the most sarcastic character. Of all time. Legit. Not a joke. If you’re sensitive to sarcasm, you’re probably just going to think he’s mean, but really he’s hilarious. Like the things he says, I wish I could come up with. Besides his great sense of humor, he develops so well throughout the story. I mean, when you start a character off with no emotions and there’s a romance part in the book, everyone knows what’s going to happen. But to make that change realistically, that’s the hard part. It was an excellent job by the author. She didn’t just have him wake up one day and decide he was going to love the world and join the hippie movement. Like it was a slow process but omg did it work up the feels. By the end like get me a Sherlock he’s the perf book boyfriend. He’s the perf boy in general.

 giphy

Irene was positively the best narrator. Loved her. She was pretty much in agreement with Emma Stone and I about Sherlock from the first time she saw him, so that was good. She was also hilarious. Not as funny as some of the things that Sherlock said, but still:

“The space ordinary people choose to store color preferences, I have put quantum mechanics.”

“Fine.” I grab a sample card of a shade of pink lurid enough to make someone’s eyes bleed. “This color then.”

“… Maybe not that one.”

“Careful, your dislike of pink is pushing the quantum mechanics out of your brain.” 

THE SASS. THE ATTITUDE. IT’S PURE GOLD. HONESTLY THE TWO OF THEM ARE JUST PERFECT TOGETHER. I love them. UGH OK I NEED TO GET OVER MY FEELS. So Irene also had a few issues, but she wasn’t annoying about them which was great. I understand that it’s important to make complex characters that aren’t perfect, but once you introduce a problem in their life, I don’t need to here them complain about it 24/7. I don’t need to here real people complain about their problems 24/7, so if I can read a book where that doesn’t happen, A+.

One of the coolest parts of the whole book was how the author included some of Sherlock’s thoughts at the beginning of each chapter. He would write down is psychologic analysis of Irene on random things and it would start off each chapter. There were only like 15 chapters so this doesn’t happen all the time, but it was nice to get his perspective on things without doing the usual dual POV chapters. Very creative and it added some more humor so you can’t really go wrong here.

So here’s the thing. The ending of this book got me. AKA: I NEED THE SECOND BOOK RIGHT NOW OMG I’M GOING TO DIE IF I DON’T HAVE IT RIGHT NOW. Me at the end of this book:

 giphy

giphy-1

THERE WERE TOO MANY EMOTIONS AND I STILL CAN’T TALK ABOUT THIS RIGHT NOW OK WE’RE DONE WE ARE DONE.

The hardest part of this is that there currently is no information about a second book, but there is confirmation that there will be a second one. I mean with that ending there has to be. But anyway, I just need to know. I want a date. i want a summary. GIVE ME SOMETHING EVA MORGAN, SOMETHING.

All in all the book was fantastic and everyone should read it because it is the best piece of literature of the 21st century. That is a very large exaggeration but real talk here: go read it because it’s perfection.

*mic drop*

Leave a comment